Zayn Malik is Working With Frank Ocean Producer, Malay

Posted on July 29, 2015

3



by Alex JS, editing by Adam MS

Zayn Malik officially goes solo to make ‘real music’

Zayn Malik is leaving One Direction behind and striking out on his own. The former member of boy band, whose departure from the group earlier this year caused a huge stir among their very devoted fans, has officially signed with RCA Records. Malik tweeted the news

He also shared a photo of himself signing the paperwork at RCA:

He tweeted that he never gave fans an explanation for leaving One Direction, and it was because he was waiting “for this moment to be given the opportunity to show you who I really am! #realmusic.”

The singer didn’t give any information about what he’s working on, or when we can expect new music from him, but he did retweet messages of support from his fans.

Simon Cowell, who was heavily involved with One Direction’s rise to fame, tweeted his congratulations to Malik after the announcement:

One Direction announced Malik was leaving the group in March of this year after five years as a member. At the time Malik said he was leaving to be a “normal 22-year-old”:

“My life with One Direction has been more than I could ever have imagined. But, after five years, I feel like it is now the right time for me to leave the band. I’d like to apologise to the fans if I’ve let anyone down, but I have to do what feels right in my heart. I am leaving because I want to be a normal 22-year-old who is able to relax and have some private time out of the spotlight. I know I have four friends for life in Louis, Liam, Harry and Niall. I know they will continue to be the best band in the world.”

Since his departure speculation about a solo career has been rampant among fans and the media. A leaked solo demo hit the web not long after the announcement, and earlier this month rumors swirled that he was banned from releasing solo music for two years.

One Direction hit the 2014 American Music Awards.

below is the original article ===

Rejoice, Directioners!!! Even though Zayn Malik is no longer with the other boys, he has been logging studio time with Frank Ocean’s creative partner and Channel Orange producer Malay.

“Benefits of the job.. my daughter gets to meet my co-workers, one who happens to be one of her favorites @niazkilam what an amazing soul #zaynmalik,” Malay posted to Instagram last week, accompanying a picture of Malik posing with his daughter.

Earlier Tuesday it was reported the former One Direction member Malik has signed a deal with Turn First Artists, where he’ll be managed by Sarah Stennett, who has also guided the career of Iggy Azalea.

Tagged:
Posted in: CELEB, NEWS